Illustration of Zach Lahn
Zach Lahn
Republican

The Tale
of the Tape

Measuring which Iowa gubernatorial candidate is more "Iowa First."

Next scheduled debate
Lahn and Sand on Iowa PBS
Wednesday, Oct. 21 · 7 p.m. Central
October 21, 2026
Illustration of Rob Sand
Rob Sand
Democrat

Comparisons drawn from public records, campaign materials and published reporting. Last updated September 4, 2026, 12:00 PM Central .

Campaign Activity Round

78Zach Lahn
Reported events (2026)
89Rob Sand
54Zach Lahn
Counties represented
88Rob Sand
14Zach Lahn
Town halls / public meetings
88Rob Sand
September 1, 2026Zach Lahn
Last reported event
September 3, 2026Rob Sand
September 4, 2026 (Sac)Zach Lahn
Next announced event
September 8, 2026 (Marion)Rob Sand

Full event record for both candidates → · Full calendar →

Iowa County Event Map

Which candidate has held more reported campaign events in each county. Reported events only.

Lahn — more events Sand — more events Tied No reported events
Show:
16counties where Lahn has held more events
43counties where Sand has held more events
37tied counties
3counties with no reported events yet

The Money Round

$7,569,964Zach Lahn
Total raised
$28,420,504Rob Sand
$1,045,365Zach Lahn
Cash on hand
$17,957,959Rob Sand
$2,794,684Zach Lahn
Campaign debt
$0Rob Sand
$9,024,599Zach Lahn
Total spent
$18,320,511Rob Sand
84%Zach Lahn
Contributions from out-of-state
39%Rob Sand
59%Zach Lahn
Spending kept in Iowa
20%Rob Sand

Fundraising periods begin on each candidate's campaign-announcement date (Lahn: November 6, 2025, Sand: May 12, 2025). Cash on hand and debt are each committee's most recent disclosure snapshot (filed July 20, 2026 / July 20, 2026), not a running total.

Next campaign finance report (October 19 Report, covering July 15 – October 14, 2026) is due October 19, 2026 by 4:30 PM. Source: Iowa Ethics & Campaign Disclosure Board.

Full campaign finance records →

Where They Stand

Zach Lahn

Opposes increases in Iowa's sales, income and property taxes and has said eliminating the state income tax should be a long-term goal. Proposes reducing taxes through government savings, offering housing-related tax rebates to young Iowans and increasing taxes on institutional property owners.

Rob Sand

Supports raising Iowa's minimum wage to $12 an hour. Proposes caregiver tax credits, limits on certain utility fees, interest-free down-payment assistance and new revenue from regulated adult-use cannabis and ending data-center tax exemptions. He has said he does not believe broad tax increases would be necessary.

Positions are summarized from candidates' published plans and public statements. Inclusion does not constitute verification that a proposal would produce its stated result.

Campaign Claims

What the available record does — and does not — show

Does Zach Lahn live in Iowa full time?

Lahn says yes. Public records establish significant ties to both Iowa and Kansas, but they do not independently establish where he spends most of his time.

Examine the record

The claim: Rob Sand's campaign and Iowa Democrats have called Lahn a "part-time Iowan," pointing to his Kansas property, voting history, school involvement and aircraft travel.

What is documented:

  • Lahn grew up in Iowa before leaving for college and work in other states.
  • He says he and his wife moved to the family farm near Belle Plaine in 2023.
  • He registered to vote in Iowa in October 2024 and says he voted in Iowa that year.
  • Reporting shows that he voted in Kansas during the 2018, 2020 and 2022 election cycles.
  • Lahn and his wife retain a home near Wichita, Kansas.
  • They co-founded a private school in Wichita.
  • The aircraft associated with Lahn has made repeated trips between Iowa and Kansas.
  • Lahn and his wife bought their Wichita-area home in 2024 and later transferred it to an LLC named after the property's address.
  • Lahn and his wife waived the Iowa Homestead Tax Credit when they refinanced the Belle Plaine property in 2021, according to reporting citing property records.
  • Lahn also owned a home in Whitefish, Montana valued near $5 million, which he sold in October 2025; he still owns an adjacent plot of land on the same road.

What is not established: Aircraft movements do not establish who was aboard, the purpose of a trip or where Lahn slept on a particular date. The public records reviewed do not provide a complete day-by-day account of his location. "Full-time Iowan" is campaign terminology rather than a defined status that these records can conclusively prove or disprove. However, Lahn clearly spends time outside of the state, and has responsibilities in Kansas. That said, you decide if you care.

Legal context: Legal eligibility is a separate question from the "full-time Iowan" campaign argument. Lahn is not stated to be legally ineligible; that would require a determination by a court or appropriate authority.

Candidate response: Lahn says he and his wife live in Iowa full time. He says Kansas travel is connected to a blended-family parenting agreement and will not affect his ability to serve as governor.

Sources:

Full aircraft flight log · Residency and citation source record

Is the Kansas school Lahn touts as an education model financially stable?

No. Wonder, the private Wichita school Lahn co-founded and leads as president, has run a deficit in most years and owes Zach and Annie Lahn about $4.5 million in personal loans, per the school's own IRS filings.

Examine the record

The claim: Lahn frequently cites Wonder as a model for reinventing education without describing its financial condition. Kansas Reflector reported that the school's finances are precarious and sustained largely by loans from Lahn and his wife.

What is documented:

  • Wonder's expenses exceeded its revenue in five of the six fiscal years reviewed by Kansas Reflector, and the school owed more than it owned over that period.
  • Zach and Annie Lahn personally loaned the school $615,000 in 2021 and 2022, after its initial startup funding was spent.
  • The school's most recent IRS Form 990 (tax year ending June 30, 2025, filed in 2026) reports $4,536,286 in loans owed to officers/directors -- about $2.27 million each to Zach and Annie Lahn -- and negative net assets of -$717,843.
  • The school also received about $320,000 in federal business grants and loans.
  • Lahn has served as Wonder's president since it opened and has said he devoted about 50 hours a week to the school without taking a paycheck.
  • Lahn's campaign confirmed the loans and said the couple also purchased and remodeled the school's building before selling it back to the school.

What is not established: The loan structure -- deferred payments and no interest until the school reaches agreed-upon enrollment targets, per Lahn's campaign -- is not shown to be improper or unusual for a small nonprofit school, and the IRS filings reviewed do not establish that the arrangement violates any law. The reporting does not establish that the school's financial condition reflects on how it operates academically, and it does not establish a specific policy Lahn would carry over into Iowa's public schools beyond his general endorsement of Wonder's approach.

Candidate response: Lahn's campaign spokesman confirmed the couple provided operating loans to the school during the COVID-19 pandemic and said payments are deferred and interest-free until the school reaches agreed-upon enrollment numbers, calling it a structure meant "to ensure long-term success of the school."

Sources:

Where Lahn stands on education

Is Rob Sand a billionaire?

No available public record establishes that Rob Sand has a personal or household net worth of at least $1 billion. His wife and her family are wealthy, but the value and ownership of their private company are not publicly disclosed.

Examine the record

The claim: A Zach Lahn campaign advertisement calls Sand a billionaire. The campaign says the description is based on the private Lauridsen Group, led by Sand's wife, Christine Lauridsen, and an estimate of the company's potential value.

What is documented:

  • Sand's wife is chief executive of the privately held Lauridsen Group.
  • Her family has made millions of dollars in contributions to Sand's campaigns and charitable organizations.
  • Sand's Iowa financial disclosure identifies his state salary as an income source.
  • The Lauridsen Group is private, so its market value, ownership shares and the value of Christine Lauridsen's interest are not publicly established.

Disclosure limitation: Iowa personal-financial-disclosure forms do not require officials to report the value of their assets, debts or income. They generally require sources of income rather than amounts. Sand's disclosure therefore cannot be used to calculate his net worth or to prove that his state salary is his household's only financial resource.

What is not established: No public documentation reviewed establishes that Sand personally -- or Sand and his wife as a household -- owns assets worth at least $1 billion. Company revenue is not the same as company value, and company value is not the same as an individual family member's ownership. The appropriate conclusion is that the billionaire claim is not substantiated by the available public record. Sand is not shown to earn only his state salary, and he is not the same person as Robert Sands, the unrelated New York billionaire; Lahn's campaign says that is not the basis of its claim.

Candidate response: Sand has denied being a billionaire. At an Albia town hall he said, "I'm not, and neither are my in-laws," adding, "I think the most ridiculous thing about the whole thing is (Lahn) started his campaign with a two and a half million dollar donation from himself and now he seems to be complaining and suggesting that he's just a regular Joe."

Sources:

Full campaign finance records

Did Rob Sand miss the $38 million moved by Iowa City schools?

No available record shows Sand's office had the legal authority to catch this on its own. Iowa law assigns most school district audits, including Iowa City's, to private CPA firms the district hires; the Auditor of State only steps in on its own initiative after a deficiency surfaces, or if given a formal request or petition -- and no such request tied to Iowa City has been publicly reported.

Examine the record

The claim: A July 9, 2026 Iowa GOP Facebook post argued that Rob Sand, who as State Auditor has said his office would "ring up public schools every single year" for misspent money, should have caught the problem himself. The post credited "private auditors," not Sand's office, with finding that Iowa City Community School District moved $38 million between funds without required board approval, asking "Where was Rob Sand?"

What is documented:

  • Iowa City Community School District's fiscal year 2024 audit, conducted by the private accounting firm Bohnsack & Frommelt and presented to the school board on June 23, 2026, found the district moved more than $38 million between internal funds without board approval or required interest calculations, which auditors said violated state law.
  • The same audit identified four other material weaknesses, including limited oversight of payroll changes, missing documentation for a $500,000 special-education grant, and a roughly $1 million deficit in the district's Student Activity Fund.
  • The audit was presented about 15 months after Iowa's nine-month post-fiscal-year deadline for completing school district audits.
  • A follow-up report presented by interim CFO Kim Michael-Lee in late July 2026 found no evidence of fraud; it attributed the problems to years of manual, error-prone bookkeeping, including roughly three years of unreconciled bank statements.
  • Under Iowa Code section 11.6, most Iowa school districts -- including Iowa City, Cedar Rapids and Des Moines -- select and pay their own private CPA firm through a competitive request-for-proposals process to conduct their annual audit; the Auditor of State's office does not automatically perform or pre-review these audits.
  • The Auditor of State's office may audit or reaudit a school district on its own initiative after a material deficiency comes to light elsewhere, or if it receives a written request from an elected official or district employee, or a petition signed by the minimum number of eligible electors of the district.
  • Sand's office is separately conducting a partial reaudit of the Cedar Rapids school district in 2026 after citizen petitioners, aided by a state senator, brought a petition to his office -- showing the request pathway exists and has been used elsewhere. No comparable petition or request tied to Iowa City has been publicly reported.
  • Responding on Facebook to the Iowa GOP post, Sand wrote that his office cannot audit counties, cities or school districts "unless they hire us for their regular annual audit, or we have a qualifying legal request," and said neither had happened in this case.
  • In a separate post on X, Sand said nearly all Iowa public schools, including Iowa City, Des Moines and Cedar Rapids, have used private auditors for years predating his time in office, and noted his office had previously recognized Iowa City schools through its unrelated "Public Innovations and Efficiencies" (PIE) awards program.

What is not established: The record reviewed does not show that any Iowa City parent, employee, elected official or citizen petition asked Sand's office to review or reaudit the district's finances before the $38 million transfer became public in June 2026 -- so it is not established that Sand's office was given the kind of request it says it needs to act, or that it had access to information beyond what surfaced through the district's own audit process. Neither the June audit nor the July follow-up report found that any of the $38 million was misappropriated for personal benefit; both describe internal-control and bookkeeping failures rather than theft. It is also not established what, if anything, the Auditor of State's office does when it receives copies of privately conducted district audits after they are filed, since districts and their CPA firms are required to send copies to that office.

Legal context: Iowa Code section 11.6 requires most school districts to select and pay for their own annual audit through a competitive process, typically hiring a private CPA firm rather than the Auditor of State's office, and sets a nine-month deadline after the close of the fiscal year for that audit's completion. The same section lets the Auditor of State conduct or order a reaudit of a district on the office's own initiative if a material deficiency comes to light, or upon a written request from an elected official or district employee, or a citizen petition meeting the signature threshold the Auditor's office sets.

Candidate response: Sand's campaign has said he pledged to "ring up public schools every single year" for misspent taxpayer money. Responding directly to the Iowa GOP's Facebook post, Sand wrote: "You know we do ring up public schools every year. You also know that we -cannot- audit counties, cities, and school districts unless they hire us for their regular annual audit, or we have a qualifiying legal request. And you know neither happened in this situation. I feel bad for you guys, having to lie all the time. The ninth commandment doesn't have an exception for political operatives." On X, Sand added that Iowa City, Des Moines and Cedar Rapids have all used private auditors for years before he took office, and that his office had previously recognized Iowa City schools through its unrelated PIE efficiency-award program.

Sources:

See all fact checks →

Public aircraft data

The Aircraft Record

Public flight data for tail number N512MM, registered to Buckeye Creek Ventures LLC of Belle Plaine. Since Zach Lahn entered the governor's race on November 6, 2025, the aircraft's recorded overnight locations have included Iowa, Kansas and other places.

159
Nights in Iowa
Plane's recorded overnight location
39
Nights in Kansas
Plane's recorded overnight location
34
Other / unknown
Other states or insufficient data
June 25, 2026
Last recorded flight
Most recent flight in the available data

123 flight(s) recorded since campaign announcement

The records track the plane—not Zach Lahn. They do not establish who was aboard, why a flight occurred or where any person spent the night.

Tracking period: November 6, 2025–June 25, 2026. Data last refreshed September 4, 2026.

Every figure links to its source. Iowa First Check is independent, unaffiliated with either campaign and does not tell readers how to vote. View our methodology and limitations →